LSL Senior 1B 

Collinstown FC – 0

Kilbarrack Utd – 0

Kilbarrack Utd registered a valuable point on the road on Wednesday night after a hard fought battle against Collinstown at the SDFL Astro in Ballyowen. The hosts will be disappointed to have not gotten more from the game, with an injury ravaged Kilbarrack side putting in a battling performance to claim an important point away from home.

Each and every one of the Kilbarrack team stepped up to the plate on a night when a big performance was needed, and showed they have the mettle for a tough second half of the season ahead.

The opening 20 minutes was played at a frantic pace with each side putting in strong challenges and not giving an inch. Both teams had the ball in the net at either end, but on both occasions the referee’s whistle had sounded moments earlier for offsides.

The best chances of the half both fell for Collinstown, with Daniel Matthews hitting the crossbar and sending a free kick fractionally over the top corner and the sides went into the break scoreless.

Early in the second half Collinstown again looked the more threatening but solid defending from Adam Fox,  Aaron Humphries Anto Moran and Adam ‘Bubba’ Byrne, who was playing a stormer at right back, kept them at bay. Matt Lyons was again in fine form too with the Kilbarrack netminder stopping two good strikes from Matthews and Ian McNeill.

Kilbarrack’s best chance of the half fell to Ben Quinlin, who was having his best game in a Kilbarrack shirt, just inside the box but the ball took too long to drop and he poked his effort over the bar.

Kilbarrack’s luck on the injury front again took a hit when Eoin Fowler had to go off midway through the half but substitutes JP Brennan and Mikey Murphy added some pace into the Kilbarrack attack as the hosts began to look tired for a 5 minute period late on.

Collinstown regrouped though in the final minutes and threw everything at Kilbarrack in the closing stages but big performances from Anto McKay and David Jackson in midfield saw Kilbarrack hold on for a hugely valuable point in the race for the LSL Senior 1B title.

Kilbarrack Team: 

  1. Matt Lyons
  2. Adam Byrne
  3. Anto Moran
  4. Adam Fox
  5. Aaron Humphries
  6. Ben Quinlan
  7. Dylan Travers
  8. David Jackson
  9. Eoin Fowler
  10. Anthony McKay
  11. Sean Doyle

12. Adam McGinn

13.  JP Brennan

14. Mikey Murphy